Genesis

enero 30, 2010

Hello all! After much ado, I’ve finally buckled down and created a wordpress. Trust me–this has been a work in progress for quite some time. If there are two things that you MUST know about me here they are:

1) I’m a perfectionist (and not in the annoying, “ugh! you’re always perfect you make me sick!” way more like the frustrating “ugh! will you ever get it right?” way)

2) I’m am infamous procrastinator

Don’t let that tiny revelation scare you. It only means that for all intents and purposes I take my time to do things, but I make sure they are done very well, to a T with all the Is sloppily dotted. So if you think I’m kidding when I say I just spent 3 hours adjusting my page to get the look I want…hm well yeah, don’t. Most likely I’ll be changing it again in a few days because I’m also

3) Constantly in need of change

So enough of my idiosyncrasies. Let’s get down to the nitty gritty.

Who are you?

I’m a 22 year old, Baltimore born and bred, naturally curlified girl. Fresh from college I find little to do with my time outside of work except half read books, attempt to actually exercise, google random things on the internet, neglect update my tumblr (poor thing is suffering), check facebook, send the occasional “why yes I’m still alive” email, satisfy my inner PJ, etc etc Basically my life surrounds work and mindless down time right now. Fantastic, you’re thrilled. But I do have larger aspirations…those of which I’m sure you’ll get to know as you read my blog.

What are you doing here?

The real purpose of this blog is to track my progress as I embark on a new hair journey. Like previously mentioned, I’ve always had natural (meaning no perms, relaxers, weaves etc) curly hair but it wasn’t until recently that I started paying more attention to what exactly I was doing/putting into it. I admit it, I’m a bit of a hair elitist. I always assumed that because my hair was “natural” it was 1000% more better off than curly heads who regularly waxed, straightened and chemically toxicated their tresses. Boy was I wrong! Turns out I did just as much damage to my hair using the wrong products and wrong methods to maintain it (I’ll go through a list of those bad habits later). Thankfully, with the help of the trusty internet (namely naturallycurly.com) I was able to do some intense investigation and now I’m feeling much better about my daily routine/product arsenal.

I will occasionally comment on other facets of my life, namely what the heck I’m going to do now that I’m out of college, why politics and international news matter to me, and those daily hilarious/horrifying experiences that I’m sure I’ll just be dying to share with the general populace🙂

When did you start your “hair journey”?

I’d say by the time I was 18. That’s the age when my mom stopped doing my hair and I took the reigns. Along the way I’ve learned a lot of Dos and Don’ts..and I’d like to think I’ll continue as a life long process. I find that the needs of your hair continue to change. It’s a living thing. Just like a person grows and evolves throughout life so does one’s hair. The trick is keeping up with it and truly listening to what your hair has to say. The newest phase of my hair journey started a few weeks ago. I’ll explain more about that later in another post.

Why should I care?

Um..because..actually..you shouldn’t. This blog is primarily for me. But I welcome commentary, advice, criticism, random greetings or whatever you wish. I hope that other girls, boys, curly, straight, black, white, asian, latina, muslim, christian, rich, poor, skinny, curvy (and the list goes on) enjoy what I have to share and find it useful or at least interesting.

Where can I find the products/methods you have listed in your blog?

I will make sure to credit and add links to every single method/product/idea mentioned in my blog. If for any reason I miss it, drop me a note and I’ll add it in! For the most part my inspiration has come from the following resources:

naturallycurly.com

livecurlylivefree.com

bglhonline.com (loooove this site!!)

tightlycurly.com

motowngirl.com

Also check out my links to other cool blogs/sites that I’ve discovered!

And that’s it kids. Love.  Hate. Congratulate. It’s all for the curls.

Una respuesta to “Genesis”

  1. This post is great! I learned a good deal about a lot about this!

Responder

